Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga yoga is practised in a sequential order with each posture (asana) opening the body in preparation for the next. When practised over time, the practitioner will enter a moving meditation, and will build strength, balance and flexibility equally and acquire a steadiness of body and mind. “Ashtanga” literally means eight limbs. The eight limbs are described Yama (abstinences), Niyama (observances), Asana (postures), Pranayama (breath control), Pratyahara (sense withdrawal), Dharana (concentration), Dhyana (meditation), and Samadhi (contemplation). These limbs support each other.

The Ashtanga system of yoga uses, Breath, Drishti (gaze) and Bandhas (energy locks) combined with asanas, the practice is satisfying, strong and dynamic.

Thursdays 8.00 pm

Sundays 11.00 am